Christmas crafts for the craft challenged

20121107-130410.jpg

For those of you who know me know I am not a crafty person. I so wish I was but for whatever reason that gene was not passed down to me. I love Wednesday morning MOPS where I get to show up and have all the supplies and how to’s laid out for me so I am able to feel just a little crafty once a month. Today was our last meeting of the year so what better way to end then to do Christmas ornaments and cookies in a jar which by the way, is an excellent gift to give for those of us on a budget!!!

 

 

Pint sized chocolate chip cookies in a jar:

Mix together:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup white sugar

Layer into jar:

  • Above mixture
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

*you will really need to press it down in there to make it all fit*

once you are finished cover the lid with your choice of fabric then use ribbon to tie the cooking directions tag to the jar.

Glitter Christmas ornaments:

20121107-130433.jpg

supplies

  • clear ornaments (currently 50% off at Michael’s)
  • floor polish
  • glitter packets
  • paint pens

How to:

  • Remove ornament lid and pour a small amount of floor polish into the jar
  • swirl around until entire ornament is coated then drain excess liquid
  • Pour glitter into ornament ad swirl until covered then pour out excess
  • let sit about 5 min.
  • replace top and use paint pens to decorate as desired

I hope everyone enjoys getting into the Christmas spirit as much as I did today!! If you decide to do the ornaments I’d love to see how your turn out 🙂

Cheers,

Jennifer

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas crafts for the craft challenged

  1. Hey! We just made our cookies today. They weren’t bad but next time I would change a few things. First, you need to use a bigger jar. The brown sugar was hard to get out and then it was clumpy in the mix. I would also add 1 tsp of vanilla if you have it. I got about 16 small cookies that cooked for a good 12 minutes. Just wanted to share in case you or anyone reading this gives these as gifts!

  2. Pingback: Upcoming Workouts and Worthy Reads « Running Daze

Leave a Reply

